TOY CANNIBALISM

Posted: September 9, 2010 in Batcave customs

Admiring the view

Toy Cannibalism…it’s a serious matter.  If you, or someone you know is engaged in the abusing of toys, please call our hotline.

Thanks to Mattel putting out a lame version of the Batcave for The Batman cartoon, I was able to scavenge a few parts for my project.  First, I used the platform to attach to the two upper levels that will attach to a ladder for Batman to get up and down.  What’s that you say?  Batman doesn’t need ladders because he has a Bat-grapple?  Well, Alfred isn’t exactly a spring chicken now, is he?  Besides, in the BTNAS xb0x game, there were ladders in the Batcave (bless the Chinese).

I bought some plumbers pipe from the local hardware store for the elevator.  They only sold it in 10 foot lengths, so let’s just say that the bushes on the side of my workshop got an extra Christmas prezzie. 

The Robin case is really a Star Wars action figure case with the bottom taken off.  Thanks to Matt over at Iron Cow, I’ve got an idea of how to mount the Robin suit.

The writing on the walls

Lastly, I pillaged Toys-R-Us for the goofiest looking dinosaur I could find for the standard-issue Batcave Tyrannosaurus Rex.  Next, I’ll need a penny…but one thing at a time.  For now, I was very impressed with my dinosaur.  Not only is he perfect to scale, he’s a very simple sculpt.  Once he’s tarted up a bit with paint, he’ll be ready to make any Batman happy.

I know it’s a bad picture, but if you’re wondering where my plans came from, they are both on paper, and written on the walls, floors, and platforms of the cave.  Sometimes, it’s just easier that way.

Leave a Reply

