IT’S ALIVE!!!

Posted: November 10, 2010 in Batcave customs

Get outta my Cave...

Okay, another tip to my hero Matt over at Iron Cow Productions… but Batman is ready to take on the night!

Alfred, you've remodeled the cave...

I built this one for me…not to keep, but to build.  I’ve always wanted to do it…but it was way to ambitious.  Now that it’s done, I’ve got a chapter in my life that I can now close the book on.  Of course, the Fortress of solitude, or an Arkham might be nice.  We’ll see…I’ve always fancied building the Penguin Lounge.  But that’s how I roll, as soon as I’m done with one project, my mind races to find another.  I’m a bit of an adrenaline, accomplishment junkie.  I have to be honest, finishing this thing is like running a marathon…you hit “the wall” part way through and you don’t feel like working on it anymore.  It may look really cool, but there are over 100 hours into this thing, and about 90 of them weren’t much fun.  The whole time that you’re building it, feeding off your own brain and what you KNOW it’s going to look like. 

Chicks dig the car...

When it was finished, I finally got the “wow” factor from the skeptics.  The guy who was photographing said that he needed to take about 5 minutes just to take it all in.  I’ll be posting detailed sections of the finished product.  Starting at the bottom left, there is the Bat-boat or Hydro-Bat ready to hit Gotham Harbor, or Gotham sewers.  I almost included a Sewer rocket subway, but ran out of room (hard to believe that’s possible in a 4×4 foot Batcave, huh?).  Moving up is what I call the Armory.  It is where Bats stores all of his weapons for sparring, and tinkers on the Utility belt and makes weapons modifications or upgrades his gear.  The next platform up is the Robin case, and finally, the Batcomputer is on the top level as in all Batcave renderings.  Moving from left to right across the cave is the elevator with a platform door (tribute to Tim Burton), and the infamous Dinosaur and giant Penny.  On the ledge are the Sports coup Batmobile, the cadilac Batmobile, and the Batcycle custom, complete with attached helmet (Batman obeys the law kids!). 

Suspended overhead are the Batplane and Batjet.  What’s the difference?  One is from BTAS and the other from TNBA.  The bottom line is that I wanted a Batcopter, but didn’t have one…I know it’s cheesy, but hey, it could have been the whirly-Bat!  I didn’t shuck that much corn… 

Looking down on (my) creation

Down below are caverns where Batman houses things he doesn’t want anybody to get at…so he’s got his Bat-safes (I invented a word).  You can’t make it out in the photo, but the three Joker Goons are targets that actually have Batarangs sticking out of them. That was my first idea about making the cave.  I wanted this to go with some gymnastic stations, punching bags, and dojo-style equipment.  I thought it’d be cool to show the training area, but it got booted out instead for the Armory.  In hindsight, it’s not to late to put all that stuff in the caverns and move the safe…hmmm (stream of consciousness)…

Bats don't swim

As you can see, this is a never-ending project.  I could just keep improving it and remaking it.  Even now, I’ve got stuff on the side that fell onto the cutting room floor.  I will be building a Batman Beyond cave in future, but I’ll need to recover from this one for a while.  I think I lost about 1 million brain cells from fume inhalation.  As I showcase the various areas of the cave, it may change slightly from these photos.  The cave, like the Dark Knight himself, has evolved over the years…so I still have a few days.

Mine's biggerer

I’ll be posting this bad-boy on Ebay to sell in the next week.  Although it will be tough to say goodbye, as stated, I just wanted to build the sucker…Plus, I’m moving continents, and this thing will be a bear to transport.  My studio is in the UK at the present, so I won’t be able to transport it to the States, unless somebody is willing to freight it with Virgin airlines.  Otherwise, it’s going to be Pick-up only for UK residents.  Come January, I’ll be relocating the studio to Southern California, and be able to do some real damage.  Citizens beware!

My hopes is that some fanatical collector out there will see it, want it, and be tempted to buy it.  It’s going to have a low reserve, because I just need to offload it…it wasn’t about money for me.  After all, why does Batman do what he does?  For money?  Or for vengeance…yeah, vengeance…

Comments
  1. Andysatherleybell says:

    it’s a Big boys doll’s house for goodness sake! And Martina thinks it’s cute! And Eliese thinks it’s geeky!

Leave a Reply

